12 Current Essentials – Kose Medicated Sekkisei Massage Mask

yellowish-white thick cream, slight herbal scent, face

Kose Medicated Sekkisei Massage Mask

I discovered this product when I accidentally dropped by the Kose counter at Langham Place. I was greeted by a very friendly and sincere sales associate who tested the product on the back of my hand. I was thrilled about the variety of effects it claims to provide and the unique herbal scent.

With 10 plant extracts from China and Japan, the product claims to alleviate dryness and smooth out bumpy skin, restoring your skin’s natural cell alignment. It also suppresses melanin action, preventing formation of freckles (which Asian women absolutely hate!). Soothes and calms skin.

Moisturing, whitening and soothing all in one ? It sounds too good to be true.

I can’t testify to its whitening claims because I don’t use it often enough to tell. However, my use of another Sekkisei sub-line products does whitens and even out my skin tone. For this particular product, I use it whenever my skin is irritated and plagued by little zit-like bumps (budding acne ?) under stress, slathering on this cream and massaging instantly makes me feel much better. It surprises me that after I wash it off, the bumps become less bumpy !!

I confess I didn’t like it very much when I first got it. Other online viewers also did not rave about it. After my first use, my skin was slightly itchy. The feeling lasted for 5-10 minutes. I gave it another go 2 weeks later and it surprised me. Thereafter, it has become my go-to mask whenever I feel like acne is going erupt on my face. This is another no-rinse product, but I feel it’s too sticky to leave on during the summer.

Most people would be alarmed by the word “medicated” in the product name. This is due to the constituent plant extracts come from plants being used medicinally in China and Japan.

My usage amount. Instruction of use : Take a cherry-size amount and slather onto whole face, avoiding the eye area. Massage for one minute. Leave it on for another 10-15 minutes. Scrape off with the spatula and rinse (optional).

