12 Current Essentials – Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask

There is a general misconception that people with eczema skin should do minimal cleansing – using just water or Cetaphil. For me, that is insufficient, especially in the summer.

I alternate between Cetaphil and cleansing foam regularly. Even when doing that I have black heads built up. Though they are tiny, they are not sparse either. This is where Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask comes into my skincare regimen.

Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask

Texture : It is a thick grey opaque cream when squeezed out of the tube, but applies matte after a minute or two, when it starts drying up on the skin. Once it’s dried up (within 5 minutes of application), any facial movement cause cracks on the mask (which is kind of funny, looking like a broken clay doll)

Application : It is moderately easy to apply a thick layer to damp skin. Given that I have very sensitive skin, I apply a thick layer only on my T-zone and round my mouth and spread thinly on my cheeks. It does sting slightly on damaged skin and wounds, but the stinging is tolerable and short-lived. I let it stay on for 8-10 minutes while I watch tv or surf the internet. I wash it off in running water afterwards.

Benefits : After washing off, my skin shines with immediate radiance. Blackheads are not cleaned up entirely but they look visibly less obvious. My already-near-invisible pores are made invisible to the naked eye. The skin feels soft and smooth. It helps with reducing budding acne as well.

Downsides : It cannot be applied during eczema flare-up. It takes courage to endure stinging on the entire face. It can be a bit messy if you don’t comb away your hair before applying the mask. But that’s not really important.

Overall : It’s a mask with cleansing properties mild enough to be used on sensitive skin (but not during eczema flare-up). It does not mop up all blackheads and acne in one application, but prolonged use will render smoother and clearer skin. I use it once a week on healthy skin after exfoliation. I tried once every two weeks. It wasn’t enough to keep black heads at bay. 4/5

My usage amount.

 

